Tags

,


I was born June 10, 1924, in North Oakland, California. My parents, Maria and Andrea were born in Rondonnia and Monte Bruno, two villages above ‘Milan surrounded by the Apennine Mountains. They met and married in Manhattan, New York. Tessa, Al, Dave and Anna, my brothers and sisters, were born in New York.

The family moved to North Oakland in 1911, and Frank, Adrian and I were born. I went to Sacred Heart Grammar School in North Oakland, St. Joseph’s Academy in Berkeley and entered the Sisters of the Holy Family in San Francisco n 1943. After my years of training, I taught religious education to public school children for ten years and then became the Director of the Programs.

I was missioned to San Jose for six and a half years, Fresno three years, Reno eight and a half years, and returned to the bay area in 1963 where I was assigned many parishes. My favorite was the Naval Air Station in Alameda, where for seventeen years I directed the program. This was the most interesting, as it consisted of children and parents in the Navy who did much traveling; each day was a new challenge.

In 1980, I went into Pastoral Care in Castro Valley for seventeen years, where we were responsible for the sacraments at Eden and Laurel Grove Hospitals, plus fourteen rest homes. Thank God volunteers were many and assisted in the work. Now, I am retired as of 1997, and live at the Motherhouse in Fremont, California. Life is slower now, and we can make choices in our volunteer work. I garden at Ardenwood Regional Park on Mondays, and I have taken creative writing classes since 1998.

Each day is precious, and I often think of all the happy memories of family, ministry, and trips, which have been an important part of my life.

