Tags

, , ,


March 7, 2010: Third Sunday of Lent
Exodus 3:1-8a,13-15 Psalm 103; 1 Corinthians 10:1-6,10-12; Luke 13:1-9 Living as we do in a time when so many people either doubt or flat-out deny the existence of God, we need to give some thought to today’s first reading where God self-identifies as “I am who am.” All we need to know about God is that God is. During late high school, all of college and for a while beyond, I didn’t really believe in God. I wasn’t quite an atheist, but I had definite agnostic leanings, because most of what I had learned as a child about God just didn’t hold up in the light of my growing adult experience. When the real Light dawned and I started to believe again, I left behind most of what I had learned as a child and realized that I was starting on a grand adventure: I knew that God “is” but I didn’t know anything about God.
In the next few
days I learned some very important qualities of God: 1) God is good; 2) God is powerful; and 3) God is personal. But it all began with the realization that “God is.” The adventure of growing in my relationship with God continues today, forty-one years later.
What do you know about God from your own experience?
