Tags

, , , , , ,


You Oughta Be in History, You’re a Unique Story
National Women’s History Month
by Sisters and Associates of the Sisters of the Holy Family

by Sister Geraldine Garbarino, SHF

Sister Geraldine Garbarino

Sister Geraldine Garbarino

I was born in the North Oakland Temescal District and attended Sacred Heart Grammar School and St. Joseph’s Academy in Berkeley, California.  My parents were born in Italy and I had three brothers and three sisters.  I love my Italian heritage.

Following my sister Adrian’s example, I entered the Sisters of the Holy Family in 1943.  My life has been very fruitful throughout the years.  Fortunately, I earned a B.A. and M.A. from the University of San Francisco.   My special years were in Religious Education, especially as a missionary in Reno, Nevada, 17 years at the Naval Air Base in Alameda and 17 years in Pastoral Care at Our Lady of Grace in Castro Valley, California.

My family, priests, friends and Sisters have touched and helped me to where my life is today.  I retired in 1997 to the Motherhouse in Fremont where I continue in the Creative Writing class plus Ardenwood Regional Park.  I also was sacristan in Reno, Nevada; Castro Valley; and the Motherhouse.

Each day I seize the moment and live to the best of my ability.  I thank God for the many continued blessings throughout my life.  My vocation is precious to me and I never for a moment ever looked back in my decision.

